About April

I live in Northern California with my life partner Thomas. We have one child each; my 18-year-old daughter Zoe and his 10-year-old daughter Tommi. We have two adorable cats, King Porter III and Admiral Spaztastic Jr.

I was born in Franklin County, Massachusetts. I lived there for a short three years with my mother and grandparents before I moved to Orange County, California. I spent my youth hanging out at the beach worshipping the sun. In my youth I enjoyed trying to jump my banana seat bike off curbs and speed bumps, riding my skateboard until I did a face plant and had to have wires shoved through my gums to hold my two front teeth in my head, and playing ditch’em with the neighborhood kids until the street lights came on. We were the original dirty dozen. I used to watch horror movies that made it impossible sleep for days. I still have an unnatural fear of the dark when I am alone and I still watch horror movies through my fingers. In my teen years I had a lot of friends and spend my days hanging out, watching bands play in garages and around town, going to punk, ska, and rock shows, taking pictures, playing music, dying my hair outrageous colors, beach bonfires, hiking, hitchhiking, and trying to keep my friends out of trouble while getting into my own trouble.

Yeah, I used to be punk rock and well, kids kind of killed that. My 20’s were a blur with working, motherhood, marriage, divorce, and the drama that encompassed it all.

In my 30’s I have met some great people I am lucky to call my friends. I went back to school when the housing market crashed and I found myself laid off for the first time. I earned a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice and a Master of Science in Forensic Psychology. While I do not technically use my degree in some cool FBI job, I do use my degree every day when working with people. I work in a professional setting with some amazing people and I have a really rad boss, be jealous. I am also a photographer, writer, foodie, therapist, crisis diverter, peacekeeper, mom, life partner, world traveler, planner, and friend. For now I take pictures and write on here, wondering if anyone is really reading any of my banter.

I turned 40 last month and I am curious to see where I take my life moving forward. For now, I will be really excited for snow in Lake Tahoe. I hate the snow, but I love to snowboard.

 

Follow me on social media